Picture Frames DIY

I have pretty much taught myself how to make some pretty cool picture frames.  I was hoping they would be a source of extra income while in school, but I haven’t had time to go that route just yet.  Instead, I have made several for my house to hang on my walls.  I plan on making some as Christmas gifts since I was able to get free wood from a neighbor and then my BIL cut it all to size for me.

What you need:

  • Wood (literally, whatever kind you want.  I’ve used plywood, wooden planks)
  • Paint (You can buy awesome sample sizes of ANY color for $2.98 at Lowes)
  • Paintbrush
  • Stencils
  • a make up sponge (this is the best tool ever for stenciling)
  • Plexiglass

Start with a piece of wood and cut it to size.  I cut this to a 10″ x 10″IMG_7763

Paint a base coat on each piece of wood.  Be sure to paint the sides.

IMG_7773

Let base coat dry completely.  I use a fan to make the paint dry faster.

Then pick out a stencil to use for the design on the frame.  I buy mine at Michael’s

IMG_7774

Line up the stencil and use the makeup sponge to blot the paint evenly and thinly onto the frame.  I use a piece of painters tape to hold the stencil in place.

Once you have painted the stencil, set it aside to dry.  You can easily do several others while you wait for the paint to dry.

IMG_7776

Once the paint is dry, paint the stencil onto the remainder of the the frame.

I used a 10×10 piece of wood and printed a 5×5 picture.  I got a large sheet of plexi glass at lowes and had them cut it for me.

IMG_7782     IMG_7787

I made 3 light ones and 2 dark ones.  I hung them on my wall in alternating colors.  I love it!  Quick, easy and fun!!

Here are a few more I have done:

etsy double 5x7    IMG_7727 IMG_7743     IMG_7742 IMG_7746     IMG_7745

One thought on “Picture Frames DIY

Leave a Reply

