Comprehension

I have the best A & P instructor.  He lets us know what tests will be the hardest and what will be the easiest. Up until yesterday, both lab and lecture have been a lot of memorization.  Anyone can memorize stuff if they study it enough.  But now, it’s all comprehension.

I never really put much thought into memorization verses comprehension.  Well, let me tell you…there’s a lot of differences.  You memorize where you live, how to drive your car, where your moms house is, where the grocery store is….etc.  You don’t even have to think about it.  You do it automatically.  Easy peasy once you’ve done it a few times.

Comprehension…..well, it’s a bit different.  It’s the difference in just driving a car verses knowing why the car starts, what causes the fuel to go to the engine and what do the spark plugs do and how do the wheels align and stay that way and on and on and on.  WHY?

We had our hardest lab test yesterday and I feel certain I got an A.  I studied a lot of hours to not just memorize the data, but to know it.  I mean, you can memorize it for the class, or you can “know” it for your life as a nurse.  So, I really try to know the information so that when I am a nurse, I can be the best nurse I can be.

On Nov. 18, I will take the hardest lecture test we will have.  It’s 100% comprehension.  The breakdown of the muscle fibers, the contraction and relaxation, the joints and movements of the skeletal system, and the breakdown of the entire central and peripheral nervous system.

I have been really busy studying for the lab exam.  Now that it’s over, I will focus my time on the lecture exam coming up.  I seriously feel like I am living my life in 2 week increments right now…..and I don’t see an end in sight anytime soon!

But honestly, I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  It’s hard.  But I love proving to myself that even though I just turned 41, I am smart enough and compassionate enough to be one of the top in my class and the eventual nurse I dream of one day being.

If you’re a nursing student…keep your head up!  All your very hard work, endurance and passion will pay off one day soon.  After many years in school, you will one day look back and it will have passed in the blink of an eye.  Be sure to make friends along the way.  Enjoy the studies you are learning.  Get to know it….not to pass it, but to be smart and informed.  The human body is amazing!!!  Get to know it for yourself, not for anyone else and not just for a grade.  You’ll thank yourself for it later in life.

Have a blessed day everyone! Remember to stop and enjoy life along the way.

kindness-quotes-5

Leave a Reply

