Production

Paul-Meyer

After taking a timeout to write my blog post last night about procrastination, I spent 2 solid hours listening to the lecture and typing up notes, adding pictures, etc. Have I mentioned I love OneNote? If you’re a student and you don’t use OneNote, you are missing out. It is the best notes tool since the word processor was invented.

I am motivated this morning to finish typing up my lecture notes and then move on to the rest of my list. I have so much to do….and on top of it all; I’ve come down with a seasonal cold. No fever as of yet, but all the other blessings that come with a cold are all intact. A mega dose of vitamin C and Zinc twice a day for the next few weeks are a sure bet and I will be feeling 100% before ya know it.

So I don’t know how many of you are in college or are soon to be in college. I want to share a few things I have found I can’t (or don’t want to) live without since my college journey started 11 months ago.

  • A daily planner and some colorful ink pens & highlighters. You have a lot to keep track of, but that doesn’t mean it has to look boring. Add some major color to your schedule and make it fun :O)
  • I think it came free with my computer. A fellow classmate told me about it as I was looking over her shoulder while she typed notes up in class. I was like, WOAH! What’s that? So thankful for that encounter. I went home that night and started using it. Haven’t looked back….not even once ya’ll!
  • Quizlet.  Have you heard of this?!?! Amazing! I type up all my notes into OneNote. Then I transfer all my notes to Quizlet in a “term and definition” format. I recommend doing all this on a real computer (laptop, desktop, etc.) Then if you want to add images, I think an annual membership is $12. Crazy cheap. After everything is entered….you can look at different formats. You can use it as flashcards on your phone (just DL the app) and you can even customize tests to test yourself on what you know. Our teacher does multiple choice only, so I choose that format to test myself (there’s also true or false, fill in the blank and matching). You can select how many questions and whether the question should be presented using the term or the definition. Try it…but fair warning, it’s addictive!!
  • Half.com – where you don’t have to spent your life savings on a college book. I mean really…a book is worth that much??? Check out half.com for those classes that you don’t have to have the web access code. You can literally save hundreds of dollars…thousands even over the course of your college years…just by purchasing your books at half price or less. The notes in the comments for each book will tell you the condition of the book. I got a $252 A&P book for $25!! Seriously. And I don’t mind at all that the book was already highlighted.
  • Student ID Card…..do you realize how many places you can get a discount if you just ask and then show your ID? Sonic is already cheap and they will give you a 10% discount. Many other places will, too! When I started school, I was way above using my ID to get discounts, I mean, really. But as the semesters continue and my pocket book withers, I am all for penny pinching wherever and however I can. Put your pride away and save some dollars, ya’ll.

Well that’s about it for now. I am off to finish typing my lecture notes. Think I may celebrate when they are done! Should have never waited so long. Typing 3 full lectures into notes. Craziness….that’s 9 hours of notes. So glad I can see the end, and lesson learned to continue typing notes up right after class!! Have a great day everyone! xoxo

Leave a Reply

